In Russia the damage from Achs in 2016 has grown by almost 13 times

В России ущерб от АЧС в 2016 году вырос почти в 13 раз

The damage from outbreaks of African swine fever (ASF) in Russia at the end of November exceeded 1.2 billion rubles, which is 12.6 times more than in 2015, when the damage amounted to 96,3 million rubles, told RIA Novosti in the Ministry of agriculture of the Russian Federation.

“The amount of damage amounted to 1,213 billion rubles for comparison: in 2014, the damage amounted to 1,111 billion, in 2015 – 96,3 million roubles”, — the Ministry said, adding that the damage is calculated on the average amount of 75 rubles per kilogram of live weight at an “average weight of one head of pig to 65 pounds”.

This increase in the Ministry explained that for the current year in Russia has increased the number of private farms, which often there is uncontrolled infection of the Achs, and the owners disregard the rules of burial of fallen animals, which leads to further spread the plague.

“As of November 28, on the territory of Russia 190,984 destroyed thousands of pigs to ASF outbreaks and 57,938 thousand heads – alienated and destroyed in the 1st threatened zone (within a radius of 5 kilometers from the site of the outbreak),” — said the Ministry of agriculture.

In addition, not reported on the alienation and destruction of 5,165 thousands of pigs in the Volgograd region and Krasnodar territory – 52,108 thousand heads. In this case, for the third quarter of 2016 the number of pigs in the whole of Russia compared to the same period in 2015, increased by 7.1%.

ASF is a contagious viral disease of pigs. It was first registered in 1903 in South Africa is particularly dangerous, according to the International classification of infectious animal diseases. For man, the ASF is not dangerous. The ASF virus is not treatable and vaccine in animals. To stop the spread of the disease can only strict quarantine measures. In Russia the virus spreads since 2007. This year, outbreaks of ASF were recorded in Ryazan, Penza, Volgograd, Nizhny Novgorod, Lipetsk, Kursk, Vladimir, Smolensk, Bryansk and Rostov regions, Krasnodar Krai and Crimea.