The referee of the fight Kovalev-ward admitted his mistake

© AP Photo / John LocherАндре ward and Sergey Kovalev during the battle. 17 Jun 2017The referee of the fight Kovalev-ward admitted his mistake© AP Photo / John Locher

Referee Tony weeks admitted that he didn’t notice the low blows on the part of American Andre ward in a fight-a rematch with Sergey Kovalev made a mistake with the early stop of the match.

The Russians lost ward in the battle for the championship belt three Boxing organizations (WBA (Super), IBF and WBO) light heavyweight champion. American referee stopped the fight in the eighth round after Kovalev missed the kick to the groin and a few bumps. After the fight, Kovalev said he did not understand that the judge’s decision.

«I saw the replays and I must admit that I was wrong — I missed hitting below the belt from ward. I stopped the fight due to the fact that Kovalev is not protected. If I could see that the blows were below the belt, I wouldn’t have stopped the fight,» wicks wrote in his microblog on Twitter.

I stopped the fight due to not protecting himself Kovalev had I saw the shots were low I would not have stopped the fight. My mistake

— Tony Weeks (@TonyWeeks_) 18 Jun 2017

Kovalev promoter Kathy Duva said earlier that the Russian team will submit a protest to the result of the second battle.

Source

Be the first to comment on "The referee of the fight Kovalev-ward admitted his mistake"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*