The Convention on the Caspian sea is subject to ratification

© RIA Novosti / Alexei Nikolskiye in Photobacterium of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin at the summit of heads of States-participants of the fifth Caspian summit in Aktau. 12 Aug 2018The Convention on the Caspian sea is subject to ratification© RIA Novosti / Alexei Nikolskiye the image Bank

Signed by the leaders of Russia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Iran and Turkmenistan across the Caspian sea Convention is subject to ratification, according to the text published on the Kremlin website document.

«This Convention is subject to ratification. Instruments of ratification shall be deposited with the Republic of Kazakhstan, acting as Depositary of the Convention. This Convention shall enter into force from the date of receipt by the Depositary of the fifth instrument of ratification», — the document says.

In addition, as noted in the document, any dispute between the parties concerning the interpretation or application of the Convention, which failed to reach agreement on the choice of countries may be referred for settlement by other means of peaceful settlement of disputes provided for in international law.