In the countries of the EAEU will tighten the norms for duty-free import of goods by surface transport

© RIA Novosti / Sergey Mamontovaya in fotoreceptori at the checkpoint. Archival photoIn the countries of the EAEU will tighten the norms for duty-free import of goods by surface transport© RIA Novosti / Sergey Mamontovaya the image Bank

The threshold duty-free import of land transport of goods for personal use into the territory of the EEU from 1 January 2019 will be reduced to 500 euros, and the total weight of such goods should not exceed 25 kilos — these principles are reflected in the decision of the Council of the Eurasian economic Commission. The document, signed by all five members of the Commission on 1 November, posted on the legal portal EEU.

For Russia, this threshold is reduced three times. Now individuals can import into Russia the goods without payment of duties by car, train or ship – in the amount of 1.5 thousand euros, and for the sum to 10 thousand Euro on the plane. Total weight of imported goods in both cases should not exceed 50 pounds.

As explained by RIA Novosti in the customs block of the EEC, the changes will affect only the goods that citizens bring with them to the territory of the Union by road, rail or sea transport and on foot.

The quantitative values for alcohol and tobacco products will remain the same: an individual over the age of 18 years can import duty-free tobacco and tobacco products: 200 cigarettes or 50 cigars (cigarillos) or 250 grams of tobacco or specified products in assortment with the total weight not exceeding 250 grams, alcoholic drinks – no more than 3 liters.

If the price or weight of imported goods exceeds certain thresholds, the owner will have to pay a fee of 30% of the goods value, but not less than 4 euros for every extra kilo of weight.

The EEU countries have long discussed the issue of lowering of the threshold of duty-free goods, but earlier they were going to do it gradually, decreasing it to 1 thousand Euro, as of 1 January 2019 up to 750 euros in 2020 and up to 500 Euro in 2021.

The EEU is an international integration economic Union created on the basis of the Customs Union and the common economic space starting from 1 January 2015. Its current membership are Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.