Kosovo has imposed duties of 100% on products from Serbia

© RIA Novosti / Ilya Petliurite in potenciali Pristina with the flag of the self-proclaimed Republic of Kosovo. Archival photoKosovo has imposed duties of 100% on products from Serbia© RIA Novosti / Ilya Petliurite the image Bank

Samoprovozglashennost the government of the Republic of Kosovo entered on the Wednesday meeting of the customs fee in the amount of 100% of all products from Serbia, said the Kosovo Prime Minister Ramush Haradinaj in Facebook.

Earlier in November, Pristina imposed a customs duty of 10% on goods of Serbian production, which caused the indignation of Belgrade. Serbian authorities say that such steps violate the agreement of the countries of Central and South-Eastern Europe on free trade (CEFTA).

«The government (self-proclaimed – ed.), Kosovo at today’s meeting decided about accepting 100% duty in respect of imported goods from Serbia and Bosnia and Herzegovina,» wrote Haradinaj in the social network and had a photograph of members of the Cabinet voted almost unanimously.

«In addition, the government, the Ministry of trade and industry and all relevant agencies in order to prevent their import and potential access bans the placing on the market of all the products marked by the official and the constitutional label of the Republic of Kosovo», — said the head of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of samoprovozglashennost.

Haradinaj stressed that the decision takes effect immediately for all Kosovo authorities.

In 1999, armed confrontation between the Albanian separatists of the Kosovo Liberation army and the army and police of Serbia led to the bombing of Yugoslavia (then consisting of Serbia and Montenegro) NATO forces. In March 2004, Kosovo Albanians staged riots, which led to mass resettlement of Serbs from the province and the destruction of numerous monuments of their history and culture.

Kosovo Albanian structures in Pristina in February 2008 unilaterally declared independence from Serbia. The self-proclaimed Republic does not recognize Serbia, Russia, China, Israel, Iran, Spain, Greece and several other States.