Kosovo has declared a day of mourning for George Bush Sr.

© RIA Novosti / Ilya Petliurite in potabachim Thaci. Archival photoKosovo has declared a day of mourning for George Bush Sr.© RIA Novosti / Ilya Petliurite the image Bank

The President of the breakaway Republic of Kosovo, Hashim Thaci has set Wednesday a day of mourning for deceased former us President George Bush the elder.

George Bush Sr. died last Friday in her 95th year of life. Thaci was in the US when it became known about the death of Bush. Condolences appeared on the page of the Kosovo President in a social network the following message after the meeting with Bush in Dallas on Friday and on the award of the «order of independence» of Kosovo. Kosovo President said that the self-proclaimed Republic and Albanians will always remember the former President of the United States, «who first stood up for Pristina before Belgrade».

«The President (self-proclaimed) of the Republic of Kosovo Hashim Thaci after the death of former US President George Bush to sign the civil state and respect for its contribution to freedom in Kosovo has proclaimed Wednesday, December 5, a day of national mourning in the Republic of Kosovo,» said Thaci administration.

«On the day of mourning the national flag (self-declared) Republic of Kosovo will be launched in the half of the shaft on all state institutions in the country and abroad», — stated in the message. It is noted that the environment became a day of national mourning in the United States.

In 1999, armed confrontation between the Albanian separatists of the Kosovo Liberation army and the army and police of Serbia led to the bombing of Yugoslavia (then consisting of Serbia and Montenegro) NATO forces. In March 2004, Kosovo Albanians staged riots, which led to mass resettlement of Serbs from the province and the destruction of numerous monuments of their history and culture.

Kosovo Albanian structures in Pristina in February 2008 unilaterally declared independence from Serbia. The self-proclaimed Republic does not recognize Serbia, Russia, China, Israel, Iran, Spain, Greece and several other States.